Yuko Tanaka

Yuko Tanaka

Two Musical Dynasties

Sunday, October 30, 2011 - 3:00 pm
St. Philip's In The Hills Episcopal Church
4440 N. Campbell Ave. (at River Road)


Louis Couperin – Suite in F major
François Couperin – Dix-septième ordre
Johann Christoph Bach – Prelude and Fugue in E-flat major
Johann Sebastian Bach – Fantasia and Fugue in A minor, BWV 904
J.S. Bach – Partita in B-flat major, BWV 825

Yuko Tanaka, a native of Tokyo, Japan, is active as a harpsichord and fortepiano soloist and ensemble player. She is a soloist at the Carmel Bach Festival, and has appeared with numerous ensembles including Music of the Spheres, Musica Pacifica, Philharmonia Baroque Chamber Players, Moscow Chamber Orchestra, and American Bach Soloists. She has appeared with the San Francisco Symphony and the San Francisco Ballet orchestras. She maintains a private teaching studio, conducts master classes, and appears as guest lecturer at various universities. Her program focuses on members of two great families who composed for the harpsichord: Louis (c1626–1661) and François (1668–1733) Couperin, uncle and nephew; and Johann Christoph (1642–1703) and Johann Sebastian (1685–1750) Bach, first cousins once removed (we think . . . those distant relatives always get us confused!).

“...exquisitely rendered solo keyboard works.”
San Francisco Chronicle