The Aulos Ensemble

The Aulos Ensemble (photo courtesy of the artists)

An Evening in the Home of J.S. Bach

Sunday, October 6, 2013 - 3:00 pm
St. Philip's In The Hills Episcopal Church
4440 N. Campbell Ave. (at River Road)


Vivaldi: Concerto in D major, "del Gardellino" RV 90
J.S. Bach: Sonata in G major, after BWV 525
Telemann: Quartet in G major (Tafelmusik I)
J.S. Bach: Selections from the "Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach"
C.P.E. Bach: Sonata in G minor, W. 135
J.C. Bach: Quintet in D major, Op. 22

Founded in 1973 by five Juilliard graduates, The Aulos Ensemble was one of the first American "original instrument" groups. Its accomplishments over the past four decades have given it preeminence in the early music movement. Flutist Christopher Krueger, oboist Marc Schachman, violinist Linda Quan, cellist Myron Lutzke, and harpsichordist Arthur Haas are among the world's leading performers on baroque instruments today.

In this concert The Aulos Ensemble will take you into the ever-busy Bach household, where music is a family affair. You'll hear not only works by Johann Sebastian, but also his contemporaries Vivaldi and Telemann and by his sons Carl Philipp Emanuel and Johann Christian Bach.

“Exemplary matching of inflection, phrasing, ornamentation, and feeling.”
The New Yorker

“Authentic Baroque performance at its best.”
The New York Times